Nap time Curtains

So, ever since we moved into our house (2years ago) I have been dreaming of making curtains.  But things got in my way- no sewing machine, having babies, potty training kiddos, other projects- the list goes on and on.  Finally enough was enough, well that and the fact that our blinds in the front room broke…

Long ago we decided that when we got curtains they would be floor to ceiling drapes.  We both love this look and feel it would show off our 9ft ceilings! However, 108″ panels are hard to find and when you do they are either a) a hideous pattern or b) ridiculously expensive.  So making them ourselves was the only option.  

Lucky for us Joann Fabrics was having a 50% sale so we scored our fabric for $4 a yard!  Since the curtains were for our front room (which has gray horizontal stripes ) I decided to go with a white linen material.
However, we still had a problem-I do not sew nor do I have a machine.  I was excited to find tons of how tos on no sew grommet curtains.  After seeing and hearing rave reviews we thought it seemed simple enough.  I bought the grommets off of Amazon for under $7 and the no sew heavy duty iron hem tape was from hobby lobby for $2.50. Now we were ready to go!!

After I put the girls down for their afternoon nap, I laid the first panel down on my floor.  I then ironed it.

 
Then I marked where I wanted the hems to be.  I did 1″ hems on each length side, 1.5″ hem on the bottom and a 4″ hem at the top where the grommets would go.  After each side was marked, I ironed in a crease this made the taping go fast and easy.  Once the crease was made I laid the tape inside the hem and ironed it on.   

 Having used the no sew tape to make the girls curtains black out, I was already a huge fan of the stuff!  It is extremely easy to use and super durable!

Now for the grommets.  Following the directions on the box, I laid out the grommets on my top hem.  Marked them, cut them, and snapped them in place.  

    
 
Boom👊. And that is how you make curtains in one naptime for a total of $44( which includes the curtain rod)!!
And did I mention how amazing they make our front room look?!  

  

 Loving them and already dreaming of the curtains I will be making for every other room in our house…once the fabric I want goes on sale🙏

One thought on “Nap time Curtains

Leave a Reply

