Peppermint Mocha- RFS!

Well, I did it! After searching and searching and tweaking, I finally found a recipe for peppermint mocha that is free of refined sugar AND absolutely hits the spot! I truly had my doubts and was starting to believe I’d have to live the entire season without one. Praise Jesus, I do not!

Now, I’ll be honest, it does not taste identical to sbucks. However, the flavors are perfect and there is even a hint of sweetness that leaves you wanting more. I am hooked and you will be too!

Ingredients
1.5 T cocoa powder
3 T pure maple syrup
1 tsp raw honey (optional but adds a touch more sweetness)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk ( could also use coconut milk or regular)

In a medium saucepan mix powder, syrup, honey and milk together over medium heat. Continue to heat until completely mixed and warmed. Then, remove from heat and add in extracts. Allow creamer to cool to room temperature and store in an air tight container for up to one week.

IMG_2198.JPG

While mixture is cooling make your espresso. I made two shots of espresso. Pour into mug and spoon 3 TB of peppermint creamer and mix. I then steamed about 3/4 cup of almond milk in my frother and poured on top. You could also just add your creamer to a cup of coffee. Either way, it’s a perfect Christmas treat without all the yuckiness of refined sugar and other mystery ingredients.

IMG_2196.JPG

One thought on “Peppermint Mocha- RFS!

Leave a Reply

