First Week RSF

Well, we made it! One whole week without refined sugars!! I really do feel better. Overall it has been an easy transition, aside from a slight headache on day two. The first thing I did was rid our entire pantry of items containing sugar ( I highly recommend this step), that way you know the “bad stuff” is not around to tempt you. This step also included ridding the house of ALL leftover Halloween candy- much to Eric’s dismay.. I really wasn’t surprised by the items that contained sugar: crackers, cereals, processed foods, etc

The hardest part for me so far has definitely been my beloved daily espresso! Ahh, I really do miss it. However, tea has been a great addition. Although I do sweeten with just a touch of honey, it is fulfilling my caffeine addiction. I foresee this being even harder come November 28th- when peppermint mochas become an allowed beverage according to Statler Christmas Regulations. Will I make the entire season without one?!!! Not so sure.

This week really put us to the test. We had my parents in to visit which led to two meals out. Proud to report we stayed strong! Eric and I even had a date night to a favorite Mexican restaurant and I didn’t get a Margarita . Sunday was a true test as the girls always get a donut at church. I warned ahead of time and although there were a few pleas, they did great! I explained how we may get a donut once and while, but this will no longer be a weekly treat.

I wanted to share a recipe we tried and enjoyed this week. carrot cake cookies. I do love to bake, and although I will be doing much less of this ( sugars or not), it was fun to find a cookie that everyone loved! These are made without sugar and butter, but are still extremely delicious and moist! This would be easy to make gluten free by swapping ww flour for gluten free flour.

ingredients
1c oats
3/4c whole wheat flour
1.5 tsp baking powder
1.5 tsp cinnamon
2TB coconut oil or butter, melted
1 lg egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c maple syrup
3/4 c grated carrots

In a mixing bowl pour oats, flour, baking powder and cinnamon and whisk together. In a separate bowl combine oil, egg, vanilla and maple syrup. Mix together until incorporated.

Next, combine wet and dry ingredients and stir until just mixed. Lastly, fold in carrots. Then place dough in the refrigerator to chill for at least 30 minutes ( if it will be in for longer cover with plastic wrap).

As, you can see the dough was a hit. Liesel happily licked the spoon clean.

IMG_2142.JPG

Preheat oven to 325. Place cookies on a parchment lined cookie sheet and cook for 12-15 minutes. You really want the cookies to be slightly undercooked as this ensures a soft chewy result!

Delicious!

IMG_2141.JPG

Leave a Reply

