Tinkerbell Birthday Cake

In January MJ was adamant about having a Tinkerbell birthday. I think this is due to the girls Halloween costumes

20140214-133837.jpg. Considering that both girls have only watched Peter Pan once and neither have seen any Tinkerbell movies. Either way, Tinkerbell was the plan and I quickly began thinking of cake ideas.

Pinterest had some great ideas but a lot of them involved fondet frosting or cupcakes. Finally after much searching I came across an awesome blog post. The cake was exactly what I invisioned and I felt it was one I could probably due. I was extremely pleased with how it turned out!

For the cake I cheated and used Betty Crocker’s, rainbow chip ( not to be confused with pillsbury funfetti). Rainbow chip is an all time fav! Using two 8inch round pans I baked the cake. In addition I made another box of the mix and put half in my glass Pyrex mixing bowl and the remainder in cupcake tins.

20140214-135256.jpg

After a cutting a whole in the middle of the cake, I slid Tinkerbell in the cake and frosted her into place. Using buttercream frosting I frosted the outside. I let the cake sit overnight and then finished the decorating in the morning. Here is the finished cake,

20140214-135724.jpg

We kept the cake hidden until the party. Moira loved it and yelled Tinkerbell when the cake appeared.

20140214-140005.jpg

Leave a Reply

