New Smoothie Favs

We still love our smoothies over here. For the most part they are the girls afternoon snack. It’s such a great way to pump veggies and fruits into your kids, I can’t stress this enough. Moira eats any smoothie I give her, she inhales it! Liesel has become a little more picky, textures and colors seem to really be hard for her. So I’ve had to get creative.

Now that I have begun operation lose baby weight, I’ve been trying to supplement one of my main meals in a day with a smoothie. In an attempt to not tire of my smoothie meal I’ve found numerous recipes off Pinterest. Here are three that have quickly become favorites over here! Let me know if you try them and what you think!

Strawberry Banana Oatmeal Smoothie
This smoothie is great anytime of the day, but I prefer it in the morning.

20140130-215701.jpg

one banana
1 cup frozen strawberries
1/4 cup oatmeal
1/4cup raw almonds
1 TB pure maple syrup
1 cup yogurt
(* I still make all of our yogurt using this recipe and use it in all of our smoothies)

Mix ingredients in blender and enjoy! This one both girls devour.

Avocado-Chocolate Smoothie aka Chocolate Divine
This one is great to curb your dessert cravings! The girls were not the biggest fans, I’m thinking because of the brown color😉

one ripe avocado
1 cup spinach
1 banana
2 TB unsweetened dark chocolate powder
1 cup ice
1 cup yogurt

20140130-221329.jpg

Blend and enjoy!

Coconut Smoothie
This week our theme for L and M school was the beach. I found this recipe and thought it would be great to try! If I close my eyes I could imagine I was on the beach in Jamaica…well not quite but it was really good, perhaps my current fav!

20140130-222121.jpg

1 banana
1 green apple (peeled/chopped)
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 cup yogurt
1 cup spinach
2 TB shaved coconut
1 cup ice

Blend and enjoy!

So. Good. Only missing a bit of rum😉

It was absolutely Moira and Liesel approved👍

20140130-222956.jpg

One thought on “New Smoothie Favs

Leave a Reply

