9 months: Q &A

I’ve never done one of these posts, but always love reading them on other blogs. Since we are getting close to baby time the texts and emails and calls have been coming to see how we are holding up. I thought this is a perfect way to get all the info out in the open. So here goes…

How am I feeling? other than huge?! Ha. Pretty good. I still continue to have heart burn ( not as consistent though) and I’m definitely feeling the tired stage of the third trimester. My back pain has almost completely gone away ( thanks hubs for the amazing nightly massages!!!). This is the first pregnancy that I have actually hit the I’m done being pregnant stage. With L and MJ I was just excited to meet them, never really sick of being pregnant. This time around, I’m done. It’s been fun, but I’m done.

Do you think you’ll go early? gosh, I hope so! For starters I cannot imagine growing for 2.5 more weeks. But mainly, I want to have this baby and be able to feel normal by Christmas. I haven’t had any labors coming soon signs. At my last dr appointment there was no progress at all. Which doesn’t mean too much considering at 39 weeks with MJ nothing was going on and I had her 3 days later…

Have I started any natural induction rituals? . From my previous two pregnancies I can tell you I don’t truly believe in these so called methods. With Liesel we tried it all to no avail! I have been drinking my raspberry leaf tea ( which I started at 30 weeks). This is to help prepare your body and make contractions etc more efficient. I’ve also started on evening primrose oil. Both of which I took while pregnant with MJ. And although they did not induce labor, I believe they played a role in my 4 hour-borderline blissful- labor.

20131206-141848.jpg

Any feelings on gender?. I still lean heavily girl. Although there have been a few, maybe you’re a boy, thoughts. Overall my pregnancy seems fairly similar to the girls. Major differences: heartburn ( supposed to mean hair, but girls had hair and I never had heartburn!), baby remains high- tons of jabs to the ribs this time around, and heart rate maintains in low to mid 140s where the girls were in the 150s. Also the name. We have had our boy name picked out since before we were married but never loved our middle name. This time we picked a new middle name and both are in love with it! Maybe that’s a sign? Or maybe that just solidifies it is a girl? Either way we cannot wait to find out! Happy with either gender!!

Still able to be active? yes! Aside from chasing two very energetic girls. I have still been working out most mornings. Thank you Billy Blank’s Tae Bo videos. It has been good to maintain this core workout! And I definitely believe it has helped ease my back pain.

Do the girls understand what’s about to happen?. Liesel does for sure! She’s seen enough pregnant family and friends have babies. She has also gone to multiple appointments with me and has felt baby’s movements. She calls them high fives.

20131206-143857.jpg
Moira understands some. She’ll talk about the baby and kiss and hug my belly, but she doesn’t really know what’s about to hit her! She is also going through a mommy separation anxiety stage. Not sure if it’s because she senses something bigs about to happen or not. Overall girls are excited! Liesel asks multiple times a week if it’s baby day yet!

Am I nesting? haha! This one makes me laugh. With Halloween and thanksgiving just weeks/days ago and Christmas time already here, I’ve had little time to even begin true nesting. I’m lucky if I get all of my weekly chores complete!! Are our bags packed? nope. Are the baby clothes washed? nope. We haven’t even completed preregistration for the hospital yet ( on my to dos). It’s funny how with Liesel, all of those things were done weeks ago. My how things change! I have a peace about it all though.

Any baby needs? thanks to my parents we now have an infant car seat and can bring this little one safely home from the hospital! Big things that remain: car: for a family of 5 ( any takers 😉), crib: we have decided to keep MJ in crib for a while so eventually we’ll need to invest in a 2nd one, diapers: we used a cloth diaper service for other girls but they have since gone out of business 😭so we are going to do disposable from the start, woven wrap/ Moby:MJ lived in this, and ergo carrier or beco: not needed right away but definitely carriers I want to invest in.

Are you nervous about labor? yes! I don’t think I’ll ever look at L and D lightly. I’ve had both ends of the spectrum! Liesels 28hour marathon and Moira’s 4 hour sprint. When pregnant with Moira I was nervous for a repeat labor to Liesels but I also was certain that it couldn’t be worse and since I lived through Ls, that brought me peace. This time around I feel like there is a very strong chance my labor will be worse than Moira’s and that makes me nervous. However, I have the best coach in the world and I know God made me to do this. I can do all things through him who gives me strength- Phil 4:13!

Overall thoughts on a third? The other night Eric and I were talking and we both were shocked with how ready, excited and peaceful we are to have a third child. With expecting our second baby we were both very anxious. This time around it is pure excitement! We are ready to be a family of 5! Come on little one😃

20131206-150600.jpg

20131206-150617.jpg

One thought on “9 months: Q &A

  1. Awww…I just loved reading this! Can’t believe it’s baby month already and I remember how miserable it gets at the end…hoping he/she come before Christmas! (And you look unfairly fabulous!)

Leave a Reply

