Sweet and Savory Butternut Squash Soup

Wow, cannot believe it’s already the end of October!! Time is absolutely flying. This morning on the drive to take Liesel to school my car said 30 degrees! So. Not. Ready. For. This. However, the plus side to this colder weather is 1.) being able to utilize our wood burning fireplace

20131022-185107.jpg And 2.) warm comfort foods for dinner!

While back in Michigan a few weekends ago my mom sent us home with some butternut squash, fresh from her garden. I have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to make a delicious batch of butternut squash soup. Today was the day! I had never attempted this soup before and honestly didn’t really know if I even liked butternut squash soup, but I thought I’d give it a try. I had found a recipe on Pinterest that seemed like the flavors I was looking for. It mixed the sweetness of the squash and apples with the savory flavors of sage and onions. I am so glad I tried it. You guys, this recipe was delicious! One I will be keeping and making over and over! It was the perfect warmth on this cool fall day.

Ingredients
1 medium butternut squash
2TB unsalted butter
1/2 yellow onion diced
1 apple peeled and diced
4 fresh sage leaves chopped
1 1/4c water
1 1/4c chicken broth
1/4tsp white pepper
1 tsp kosher salt
Black pepper to taste
1/3c heavy cream
Sour cream

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Half your squash lengthwise and place it, cut side up, on an aluminum lined baking sheet. Place a 1/2 a tablespoon of butter on each half and season with salt and pepper. Cook in the oven until fork tender, about an hour.

20131022-195139.jpg

While your squash is cooking dice and peel onion and apple. I used a Jonathan apple because it is neither too sweet or tart.

20131022-195250.jpg. Melt your remaining tablespoon of butter in a large pot or Dutch oven, over medium heat. Add apples and onions. Cook until translucent, about 7 minutes. Around minute 4 I added in sage, salt and pepper. Once apples and onions are fully cooked remove from heat.

Now to add in the squash. Once your squash is fully cooked and cooled ( enough to be handled), spoon out the insides into apple mixture. Return pot to a medium-high heated burner and add in water and broth. Cook until mixture reaches an even boil, then turn burner down to a medium-low simmer. Continue cooking for 15 minutes, stirring frequently to break up squash chunks. Once your soup is finished cooking, remove from burner and slowly stir in cream.

Using a blender, cream your soup into a nice smooth consistency. I divided the soup into three parts as to allow for an even mixing. It is also best to remove small plastic top from your blender as to allow steam to be released and cover hole with a kitchen towel.

20131022-200154.jpg.

Now that your soup is nicely blended, it is time to enjoy every bite! I added just a dollop of sour cream to each bowl. Bon Appetit!!

20131022-200345.jpg

3 thoughts on “Sweet and Savory Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I found the exact same recipe on a different website and made it for a family get-together. I used a Granny Smith apple since I had a request for a soup that was not overly sweet. I used vegetable broth to try it vegetarian and an immersion blender so that I didn’t have to transfer it from the pot. Everyone loved it, including me, and I really don’t care for squash. Definitely a recipe to keep. (I decided to try the recipe when I saw that you had success with it too. Thanks for posting it.)

Leave a Reply

