Smells of Fall

One of my favorite things about fall ( or autumn, as Eric so desperately wants us only to refer to it…) is the smells! I can always tell when we are in the heart of the season because of the rich fallen leaf aroma when the girls and I are out for a walk. I love getting to use my pumpkin spice and apple spice scents in the home. It really makes the house feel cozy! But perhaps my absolute favorite smell of fall is that of applesauce cooking on the stove or in the crockpot! Mmm, nothing better.

Growing up we always made applesauce in the fall. It’s an excellent way to use freshly picked apples, and it is oh so delicious! Due to the poor growing season last year we were unable to make some, so this year we have been trying our best to make up for it! Currently I have made four batches of amazing homemade applesauce. My girls devour the stuff! Not only do they eat it every morning on their oatmeal but it is also the perfect after dinner treat. We love our sauce and you will too! Here is the ever so simple homemade applesauce recipe:

ingredients
10-15 apples
1/2c water
Cinnamon to taste

This year we have been to the apple orchard four times. We have picked cortland, red delicious, golden delicious, and Jonathan. For my applesauce I use any combination of the four kinds. It’s nice to have both sweet and sour apples in the sauce. Rarely do I make applesauce using only one kind of apple, but you absolutely can! Once you have picked your 10-15 apples, peel, core and slice them. Then pour apples into crockpot. You may need to add or take away the amount of apples depending on the size of your pot.

Pour water over top of apples and sprinkle with cinnamon. I use quite a bit because we really love cinnamon over here.

20131009-134946.jpg

Then cover and cook on low for 4-6 hours. Stirring every hour or so. Once your applesauce is fully cooked you can place it in a processor to ensure a super smooth consistency. We like ours with some chunkiness to it, so I simply take a potato masher to the apples.

After your applesauce is at the desired consistency pour it into mason jars.

20131009-150045.jpg
There you have it, a simple fall recipe that will have your house smelling delicious and your family begging for more!!

2 thoughts on “Smells of Fall

  1. Looks delicious! We just went apple picking yesterday and have our first batch of applesauce in the crock pot! Thank you – I am really excited to make this a new tradition:) The only other time I made applesauce was with Peggy about 11 years ago! It was the best applesauce I had ever had!

Leave a Reply

