Thoughts on Homemade Detergent

I cannot believe it’s almost been a year since I started making and using our homemade laundry detergent! I wanted to write a quick post on my thoughts.

It was definitely a HUGE savings! My first batch lasted our family of four all the way until the end of July! Nine whole Months!!! And that is nine months of a ridiculous amount of laundry. I almost do at least one load everyday. I spent just short of $20 dollars on the ingredients and it stretched that long. As a comparison, when I ran out in July, we had just moved, so I bought a large tide container of liquid detergent for about $15 on sale and it only lasted until the beginning of September. I didn’t do the math, but that’s a big big savings!

This past weekend I made my second batch. I forgot how easy it was to make. Took no time at all. After a month of Tide Detergent- Yuckiness, I was extremely happy to have our detergent back. The smell is fresh+clean, and I definitely think it cleans better than the store bought kind. Our towels are fluffier, brighter, and have zero mildew smell, even the pool towels that were (regrettably) left in the beach bag for too long…

So, if you have been on the fence about making your own detergent take my advice and give it a try!! Your family, budget and laundry will thank you. Here is a link to my recipe for homemade laundry detergent. Let me know your thoughts whether you have been making your own or if you are thinking of trying it!

Leave a Reply

