Liesel School Revamped!

With all the hustle and bustle of moving and just plain craziness of the summer, we took a little hiatus from Liesel school. That’s not to say we left learning by the wayside:), tons went on, just with less structure. We finished the format I had been following last year in the beginning of June. We worked through all 26 letters and sounds, worked on counting to 30 and number association to 20, as well as numerous shapes and colors! It was a great year and I’m excited for part two.

When thinking about restructuring Liesel School, I knew high on my priorities list was bible verse learning. This was something I neglected to include last year and wish I had. Her mind is a little sponge and now is the time to make sure those Christian foundations are being laid! Yes, we talk about Jesus, the bible and prayer often, but I’m excited to incorporate it into our weekly learning routine! A website I found and LOVED you can go to here. They have an entire curriculum based around different memory versus! And the best part is that each verse is put to a song, perfect for memorizing!!

I also wanted to focus more on writing letters and numbers. Liesel has the sounds down pat, but just in the last few months she has really shown an interest in learning to write each one. For example, the other day we were spelling her name, when she got to letter S she stopped and I could tells she was slightly frustrated. She asked me to write an S for her. She then practiced ,I’m not kidding, for the rest of the day!

Lastly, I want to focus on lowercase letters and the beginning of blending sounds together. Liesel already does a great job of telling you what sound a certain word begins with, for example bear starts with the letter B. So I know blends are just around the corner!

This year we also have a new student! That’s right, Moira Jane is joining the activities and learning! As long as we can keep her from eating the crayons;) this little sister does not want to be left out. It will be fun to see how much the two of them learn and grow together!!

Here are a few pictures from our first week:
Memory verse was, In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Genesis 1:1
I had the girls learn the verse by singing it to the tune Are You Sleeping? I wish I could upload videos on here because the two of them singing is priceless!!

20130730-150710.jpg

20130730-150743.jpg

20130730-150815.jpg

Writing the number 0 in sidewalk chalk. Our number rhyme went like this : round and round and round you go, that’s the way to make ZERO!

20130730-151052.jpg

20130730-151114.jpg

Rainbow As and handwriting.

20130731-095934.jpg

One thought on “Liesel School Revamped!

Leave a Reply

