Packing, homelessness, moving and other shenanigans!

What a month this has been. I have been tested in what seems to me to be about all areas of life! Lets go back to May. Eric and I had been looking at houses for just a few weeks when we found out god was blessing us with another baby! Excited and nervous all at the same time. We knew we wanted more children, but was it too soon? God sure didn’t think so.

20130716-144512.jpg

20130716-144844.jpg
We knew life was going to get crazy-er ( baby due December 25th. Meaning in a few short months we will have a 3 1/2 yo, 22mth old, and a newborn!!) we also knew this housing situation was a definite necessity! We needed more space and fast! ( our current house of barely 1200sq ft just wasn’t going to cut it). We prayed and prayed for the perfect house. One in our budget, one that would meet the needs of our growing family, one that would be in a desirable location for schools, and one that would be ready for move in by the end of June. We waited and waited and were getting discouraged by the housing market, things were flying before we even had a chance to see them! Then the perfect house became available. Answering all of our desires, even the ones we didn’t think we would get ie, our wood burning fireplace.

20130716-150918.jpg

Fast forward a month and we are in June. The month we have to be out of our previous house, and the month we would be moving into our new one! It was a crazy month filled with endless packing ( how do we have so much stuff?? I am a proud purger but yet stray unknown boxes creeped in somehow). We also had a week long family reunion planned in Michigan and a 3rd bday to celebrate. Phew. Somehow it would all get done, it had too. A motto I repeated often to myself. Then we received some unwanted news, just days before our Michigan trip and less than two weeks before our moving day. Our loan was taking longer to process ( we had already been approved) but the mortgage/ title company needed more time. No one could give us a definite answer, lots of approximate time tables but no promises on an exact date for our closing. Eric and I were a mess. What are we going to do?? We have to be out of our house by the 30th (zero wiggle room) and what would we do with our stuff and where would we stay? Everything seemed up in the air. Everything WAS up in the air. Our realtor kept telling us there is a chance we could still close on the 28th, but to prepare in case… Ugh.

Well, the 28th came and went and our closing did not happen. We moved all our stuff into the garage of our new home ( so thankful that the sellers agreed to this)! That Friday was a whirl wind. Full of boxes, juggling girls, cleaning, you name it! Moving sucks, period. Moving with two kids, even worse. Moving knowing you have to do it all again in the near future and no idea when that will be, unbearable!!

20130716-152827.jpg
Luckily we made it through that weekend alive! Barely. So thankful we had professional movers. They were amazing, affordable and did a wonderful job! Also, Eric’s mom and stepdad were life savers, they not only watched girls, they painted and opened up their home for us until our closing date ( still TBD).

We were now able to close the door on house number one, however, the craziness was far from over! As mentioned Eric’s parents welcomed us into their home with open arms. They were so gracious. We all thought this homelessness would be a week at most. I could not imagine our closing being pushed back past the 4th of July! Fast forward another few weeks and we finally had a closing date! July 12th at 4pm, yes two full weeks past our original closing date! But PTL there was finally an end in sight!!

God was definitely teaching Eric and I about patience and that we live life through HIS time table and not our own. Why must I have to learn this lesson over and over again? Why do I doubt his love and never ending protection over my family and myself? He has NEVER left me, nor forsaken me, and yet I find myself doubting at times. We have now officially been in our new house for four whole nights. And we are in love! I have to pinch myself that this truly is our new home. One we will love and care for, for a long time. Sure, my Honey-do List is growing each day, but I rest in the fact that it will all get done in time. But for now we are just trying to take it easy and drink in this new chapter of life.

Delight in me and I will give you the desires of your heart! Psalm 37:4

Praise God for his faithfulness! We are so undeserving!

2 thoughts on “Packing, homelessness, moving and other shenanigans!

  1. I hear you on the stresses of moving! It’s always a tough time, especially for families. You know, I don’t think I’ve ever seen someone completely mellow or normal on moving day (and I’m a mover, so I would know. I saw you used professional movers for the actual moving, which is a good thing. It’s one of the few ways you can actually cut back on the stress of moving, even just a little.

    Glad to hear your new home is feeling good so far.

Leave a Reply

