S’mazing Bars

So, I definitely have a love/hate relationship with Pinterest. I love the incredible ideas on there. I love the creative outlet it has provided for me. I love pretending that each and every pin I’ve made is not only absolutely doable, but will in fact be completed by myself in the near future. I however hate that every time I open up the app there are tons of recipes (mainly desserts) staring me in the face, begging me to try them!! Seriously, I’m blaming Pinterest for my expanding waistline;)

This recipe is one of those dessert recipes I’ve been dying to try. Lucky for me I actually had an excuse to make them. It was our week to host bible study! Thank you dear friends for always being my guinea pigs and providing me with a semi-regular opportunity to tap into my Martha Stewart side and give in to my Pinterest cravings!

This week I decided to try a recipe for S’more Bars. And they were indeed S’mazing! I adapted the recipe found here

20130303-212509.jpg

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups flour
1tsp baking soda
1/2tsp salt
1tsp cinnamon
2/3 cups butter, softened
1cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1tsp vanilla
2 sleeves of graham crackers
11oz dark chocolate chunks
1 1/4 cups mini marshmallows
3 Hershey’s chocolate bars

Preheat oven to 375. Sift together flour, soda, salt and cinnamon in a small bowl and set aside. Next, cream butter and sugars for 2-3 minutes on high speed.

Once the butter mixture is light and fluffy add in eggs one at a time and vanilla. Now slowly pour dry ingredients into the bowl. Continuing to mix on medium until all is fully incorporated.

By hand, stir in chocolate chunks and one cup of marshmallows. Feel free to try a pinch, mmm good:).

20130303-214244.jpg

On a rimmed baking sheet lay graham crackers down so that all are touching and no cracks are seen. Add large, ice cream scoop size, spoonfuls of cookie batter on top of the crackers and gently press down. There will be spots untouched by cookie dough and that is fine. Cookies dough will spread once cooked.

Place pan in the oven for 5 minutes. Take out and press individual Hershey pieces on top of cookies. Also press remaining mini marshmallows. Return pan to the oven and cook for 5-7 minutes, until marshmallows are a perfect golden color. Take out and let bars sit for 10-15 minutes. Cut into squares, following the lines of the graham crackers and enjoy!

20130303-215607.jpg

20130303-215647.jpg

These were a huge hit. Everyone had at least seconds, which was awesome because that meant fewer left over for Eric and I to eat ourselves:). Cheers Pinterest for another fantastic recipe, my love for you still out weighs my hatred.

Leave a Reply

