Smoothie Amazingness

Who has trouble getting 8-10 servings of fruits and vegetables into their children daily?? This girl! What happened to my garbage disposal babies who would eat anything?! Life was so easy when you could spoon feed your babies all the greeny goodness on a regular basis.  Now I have one semi-picky two year old and one, one year old who will ONLY eat what big sis is eating:/

I really can’t complain too much. Overall my girls really have been excellent eaters! They eat green veggies with lunch and dinner and fruits as often as possible. But our selection of vegetables that the girls would eat ( without protest) was quickly dwindling. Snacks were another story. Granola bars, bunny crackers, raisins and other sweet foods were climbing the list and vegetables and fruit were falling further down. I knew I needed to change this asap! Smoothies seemed like an excellent way to sneak extra servings of veggies into the girls daily. Lucky for me the girls have viewed it as a treat!

Over the past few weeks smoothies have taken the place of afternoon snack and breakfast on occasion (oatmeal is still queen of this meal). I love picking out new fruits and vegetables at the store to try in a new concoction. I don’t follow any recipes. I just eyeball amounts and try different blends and throw the ingredients into my blender. Easy peasy. I have yet to find one the girls haven’t gobbled down! My liquid is either yogurt ( so glad I’m making our own, this is a Huge savings!! recipe here) or Almond Milk ( adds the perfect sweetness).

Here are a few of our go-to blends:
image

Yogurt
Spinach
Avocado
Carrot
Banana
Strawberry(frozen)

Yogurt
Spinach
Blueberry(frozen)
Beets
Banana

Almond Milk
Mango
Cucumber
Spinach
Blueberry (frozen)
Carrot

Yogurt
Peach (frozen)
Carrot
Zucchini
Avocado
Banana

Almond Milk
Mango
Spinach
Peas (frozen)
Avocado
Banana

Yogurt
Broccoli (frozen)
Blueberry (frozen)
Dates
Banana

Here are my more than satisfied customers:) image

Would love to here any of your favorite blends!! Always up for new ideas (ECP, looking at you).

5 thoughts on “Smoothie Amazingness

  1. I’m also a huge advocate of the vitamix (disclaimer: I only got mine a few weeks ago, BUT I’ve used it at least 2 times a day if not 4 since having it!). It is pricey, but if you buy into the smoothie thing it’s spectacular (it can also make soups, sauces, nut butters, and even grind flour). You can add things like almonds and flax seed and it’ll completely pulverize it to power.
    Keep up the good work Mama – those babies will thank you someday!

  2. Pingback: Smoothie Favs | goinghomemade

Leave a Reply

