From Pumpkin to Pie!

Pumpkin Pie is by far my favorite fall dessert! I would not want it every month of the year, but September through November I am all about the pumpkins: pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin pancakes, and of course pumpkin pie!  This year I decided I wanted to try making pumpkin pie from scratch, yes, no cans were involved ( well except the milk).  It was also the start of “pumpkin week” for Liesel school and I thought what better way to kick it off than a trip to the farmers market to get ourselves a sugar pumpkin?!

After buying our pie pumpkin it was time to get crackin’! First stop, was finding a recipe;)  I found one that was on a website from a pumpkin patch. It sounded like my Grandma herself had written the recipe, so down home, I just couldn’t resist giving it a try. You can find the original recipe at pickyourown.org.

Here is my slightly altered  recipe, I changed a few things and followed a different crust recipe. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie pumpkin
  • 1c sugar
  •  1.5t ground cinnamon
  • 1t ground cloves
  • 1t ground allspice 
  • 1/2 t ground ginger
  • 1/2t vanilla
  • 3lg eggs
  • 1can evaporated milk

Crust:

  • 1 1/4c flour
  • 2 tsp sugar ( optional)
  • 1/3c butter
  • 4-5T cold water

Now for the baking to begin. First, take your pie pumpkin and cut it in half. Scoop all of the seeds and stringy goop out.Image

Then place pumpkin halves in a baking pan face down.  Put the pumpkin in a 350 degree oven and bake for 45-50 minutes, until the pumpkin is soft on the outside.Image

After the pumpkin has cooled ( I let mine sit out for about 20 minutes) scoop out all of the insides and place in a food processor or blender.  Mix into a puree and set aside.Image

After your puree is finished, it is time to make your crust.  I actually doubled my crust recipe so that I could have plenty of dough to play with and make a nice tall and thick rim. I froze my remaining dough. For the crust, mix flour and sugar together. Cut in butter pieces with a pastry cutter.  You want the consistency to be that of small pebbles. Now, add cold water one tablespoon at a time until the dough is moistened and easy to work with.  Place dough on a floured surface and roll it out until it is big enough to fit in your pie pan. As a side note I used 3/4 of my doubled dough recipe.Image

I placed my finished crust in the fridge while I mixed the pie filling.  For the filling, mix all your ingredients together. It is really that simple. Then pour your filling into your pie crust and place in a preheated 425* oven.  Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes and then turn your oven down to 350 degrees and bake for an additional 45-60 minutes, until a clean knife inserted into the center comes out clean.  Here is a picture of my finished product, oh my did our house smell amazing!Image

Let your pie cool and serve with some whipped cream!Image

So delicious.  We were having small group bible study at our house that night and everyone enjoyed a piece of my first-ever-from-scratch pumpkin pie. I do not think I will ever go back to the canned stuff and neither will you!!

2 thoughts on “From Pumpkin to Pie!

  1. Looks delicious!! I use pumpkin all the time and have never made it myself. I will have to try it. I’m sure it would freeze up nice as well. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Halloween Fun | goinghomemade

Leave a Reply

