Homemade Laundry Detergent

Making my own laundry detergent is something I have always wanted to try.  A few of my friends have been making it successfully for a while now and they are all loving the results.  I decided once my most current laundry soap ran out, it would be time! I was so excited when I used up my last drop of Tide a few weeks ago.  Luckily it happened on a day I was planning to go grocery shopping anyway.  I excitedly put all the ingredients to my potion, er, laundry detergent on my list and off to the store I went! I found the recipe I wanted to try on a favorite blog site of mine, blissfulanddomestic.com ( she has AWESOME ideas on saving money, definitely check her out!).  The recipe caught my eye because first of all you only had to spend $20 at your local grocery store and second of all she claims it will last you 8-9 months!( I will see if that holds true for our family because I feel like we are going for a world record on the amount of laundry we go through in a week:))

Off to the store I went and was happy to find all of the ingredients easily and was shocked that I spent only $18! Thank-you Kroger for your amazing deals.  Here are the ingredients you need:Image 

  • 4lb box of Baking Soda ( found down baking isle)
  • 4lb box of Borax ( laundry isle)
  • 4lb box of Super Washing Soda ( next to Borax)
  • Oxi-Clean ( this is optional I only used a 1lb box)
  • 3 bars of Fels-Naptha soap ( found down laundry isle)

Using a cheese grater I grated up the 3 fels- Naptha bars, funny how it actually looks like cheese!Image

Next, I located a large trash bag and poured all of the ingredients into it.  I alternated pouring the ingredients into the bag splitting each container into four parts. That way I ended up having 4 layers of combined mixture.  Once everything had been emptied into the trash bag I cut a small hole in the bottom corner and pour into containers.   I used some containers I found at the dollar store to hold my soap.  I was shocked that these ingredients made roughly 7 quarts worth of detergent!Image

I was now officially in business! I have never been so excited to do laundry!!  For small loads I use only 1 Tbsp worth of detergent and 2 Tbsp for larger loads ( like towels etc). The oxi-clean came with a perfect soap measurer so that is what I have been using.  My first few loads have come out wonderfully! No residue, extremely clean, and smelling wonderfully! I have used the detergent on my whites and darks.  I am not using it on the girls clothes yet, mainly because a Cosco crazy friend of mine ( you know who you are;) ) gave me two gigantic containers of Dreft that I have yet to make a dent in. Once those are used up I absolutely plan on trying it on the girls clothes. 

I definitely recommend trying this recipe. It is ever so simple and will save you a ton of money.  Even if it doesn’t last the entire 8 months you will still be saving a lot.  Enjoy and let me know what you think!

9 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

  1. Also found a recipe for this on TLC- Duggers DYI link. It only had 3 ingredents. Going to give it a try after I run out!

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on Homemade Detergent | goinghomemade

  3. Pingback: Dishwasher Detergent | goinghomemade

  4. Have you added anything for smell, I’m kinda stuck on the tide smell, and that has been the main reason I haven’t changed. I recently got laid off, so I’m playing housewife and looking for saving in uncharted territories. I would love to be able to add a smell to it. Any thoughts??

  5. Pingback: Homemade Laundry Detergent | Eating Clean and Saving Green

Leave a Reply

