What a Year!

I cannot believe it has been a whole year since I began staying at home full-time. What an amazing, challenging, ever-changing, blissful year it has been! I feel extremely blessed to have the opportunity to stay home with my girls. The decision, however, came with a price. The new”er” car, owned home, and extra cash on hand will have to wait a little longer. But honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way! Being able to see my girls first thing in the morning, spending our days adventuring together, and having cuddle time each night are priceless.

Being a stay at home mom is not always the walk in the park people think it is. There are definitely different challenges we face. I think the transition from working outside of the house was a little easier for me because of my teaching background and most recent nanny experiences. When I first made the switch to full-time mom I remember thinking, ” I have to make amazing meals every night of the week, the house must be spotless…” well I quickly realized these expectations were unrealistic, for me at least. I had to decide what kind of mom I wanted to be and where I wanted to focus my time and energy. I really enjoy cooking and baking, but to make big meals from scratch every day was gettiing to be daunting and I found myself spending way too much on groceries each week! Through trial and error I was able to find a happy median. Each week I try to make at least two big meals, then we eat all the leftovers. I usually throw in an easy BLT/ soup night or something that takes almost no time to prepare in order to get a full weeks worth of meals. Cleaning, well, that is still a work in progress:) Especially now that I have a two year old who has her own ideas about where the toys should go ( or not go), ha! For the past few months I have been trying to follow a cleaning schedule that hits the daily basic tasks ( bed, counters, sweeping) and one bigger task each day. This has allowed me to hit all the key areas every week. There are certain tasks like, mopping and vacuuming, that I do more than once a week. I could almost do them multiple times daily! However, I have come to terms with the fact that I am not going to have a spotless house right now. If I tried I think my entire day would be spent running behind Liesel with a paper towel and cleaning spray in hand. And, well, that is not who I am nor desire to be! So, if you come over don’t be shocked if you find crumbs under the table or toys strewn across the floor. I like to think it gives our house more character 🙂

Aside from the challenges there have been so many precious, wonderful moments in the last year. Way too many to count! Watching and helping Liesel learn to count, sing her abc’s, identify all different shapes and colors, and countless other tasks have been amazing. Seeing the love my girls have for each other already is such a blessing. Also, by staying at home, the girls and I are able to spend a little more time with Eric during the day. Due to the nature of his job, there are many nights that he has appointments until well after the girls are asleep. Before I began staying home Liesel would often not see Eric at all on those long days. Now, he can quick pop home and have lunch with us if his schedule allows!

I know staying at home is not for everyone. I just know that I am currently in the job that God made me to do! Never have I felt more contentment, passion, or desire to do anything else. I love my family and I look forward to many more years of staying at home bliss!

4 thoughts on “What a Year!

  1. This is SOOOOO true!! Looks easier than it is and eventually the dishes will get done!!! Glad you are enjoying yourself! I will be joining you in this “job” title within the next few months and can’t wait! Keep up the good work, your doing a GREAT job!!!!

  2. It’s nice to hear your thoughtfulness and care of a mother’s role. I also feel happy to be home with the kids. The third has definitely made things more challenging, but I am so glad I have spent so much time with each of them, even if we have quesadillas a couple nights a week:) My children have already expressed how happy they are that I make things for them, help at school and bake with them. It is great that they already appreciate our relationship. As yours do, I’m sure! Wonderful to make bonds with your children that will truly last a lifetime:)

Leave a Reply

