Granola Bars from the Store? No More!!

I cannot believe I used to spend about $25 a month on granola bars!  That’s 1/16th of my entire grocery budget for the month, ridiculous. During the spring I became determined to find a great granola bar recipe.  I tried a bunch and either they were too dry, too sticky, or tasted bland.  I finally came across this recipe on Pinterest and decided to give it a try.  I am glad I did, it was an instant hit in our house.  And I am happy to report I have been supermarket granola bar free for 3 months now:)  Here is the recipe, trust me you are going to want to save this one!

Ingredients

4.5c oats

1.5c ww flour

1tsp baking soda

1tsp vanilla

1c softened butter ( I use coconut oil because it adds a delicious flavor to the bars)

1c honey

Mix Ins ( 1 c of each)

Really you can use whatever your family likes best in their granola bars. Some of our favorite mix ins are:

raisins, unsweetened coconut shavings, sunflower seeds, mini chocolate chips, walnuts,  peanut butter ( if you use PB than I eliminate butter/oil)

Directions:

Mix butter/oil and honey together until thoroughly mixed. Add in all ingredients except for the mix ins. Once mixture is completely mixed through you can add your favorite mix ins.

My favorite helper! And as you can see from crumbs around her mouth, she is also the official taste tester:)Image

Once you have added all the mix ins you want, scoop mixture into greased 9×13 pan. Be sure to pat the granola firmly into the bottom ( clean hands work best).Image

Now bake at 325 degrees for 18-25 minutes. Just until lightly browned on the edges.  Allow bars to cool completely before you cut them. I usually cut them into 24 bars and store them in airtight container. Image

This recipe usually lasts us 3 wks. Let me know if you try it and what you think. Enjoy!!

7 thoughts on “Granola Bars from the Store? No More!!

  1. Oh I love this; they look great! I will definitely try it soon – we make our own granola but I never thought about making the bars! Julian loves to have snacks handy as energy boosters at school!

  2. I make one with peanut butter, protein power, and oats. But know I have to find GF oats to make again. But wondering if the flour makes them stick together better??? Plus baking… Mine were no bake.

  3. Have a batch of these in the oven right now! My oldest(4) eats a TON of granola bars, so this was the perfect find. I added 3.5 cups of oats & 2 cups of crushed special k I had at the bottom of the box, mini chocolate chips, & those new mini mallow bits (chocolate) I have a feeling these will be a big hit! Thanks for the inspiration

  4. I have been looking for a really good granola bar recipe. This one looks great! I wonder if I could put in some rice krispies and some cashews. My husband really wants to have a sweet nut. Thank you so much for posting this.

Leave a Reply

